Dark Places//Book Review

dark-places-book-cover

I felt that since the movie is currently in theaters today would be a great time to review the book Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. 

I saw this book on a summer must read list and did not even realize it had been made into a movie until AFTER I finished it. The sad part is the it actually said “coming to theaters” on the cover of my book. I guess I don’t pay enough attention to details!

This book is crime/mystery novel that deals with the murder of a family. At the time of the murder, survivor Libby Day was around 7 years old. Her mother and two sisters were brutally murdered while she managed to escape. Her older brother Ben Day was charged for the three murders and was said to have been a participant in a satanic cult. It has now been 25 years since the murders and Libby had been approached by a guy who is in what is called a “Kill Club.” This club is a group of people fascinated with different high profile murders. After spending time with this club Libby begins to rethink some things that happened the day of the murders.

I personally loved this book. I am already a sucker for mysteries and crime so this was the perfect book for me. I was surprised by how fast I was able to complete a book that was over 500 pages. One thing I wasn’t so crazy about was the fact that the story jumped from Libby’s current perspective, Ben’s perspective at the time of the murder, and Patti’s (their mother) perspective at the time of the murders. Although I liked all 3 story lines and they were all important I would get hooked on one and then it would end. One thing I found interesting was the fact that I guessed how it would end and I was fairly close. I wasn’t spot on but I definitely had some of it right.

I believe I gave this book a 4 out of 5 on Goodreads but I think it deserves more of a 4.5. You can only give whole stars on Goodreads so I didn’t have much of a choice. I would give it a 5 but like a said there were a few things that bothered me but they weren’t too significant. I would recommend this book to just about anyone but especially someone who lives mysteries and crime novels. It was very well written and reminded me why I loved reading Nancy Drew as a kid!

Has anyone seen the movie yet? I would love to know how it is and if it compares to the book. I have only seen the trailer but I already noticed some changes in the story line.

Leave a Reply

