A Little Salty to cut the Sweet//Book Review

a-little-salty-to-cut-the-sweet

Yes I know another book review but just hear me out! I have always been a procrastinator but I’m finding my procrastinating becoming a bigger problem now that I am a regular blogger. It seems Monday’s appear out of nowhere some weeks. That can become a problem when I realize it’s midnight and I’m supposed to have a blog post up for you guys in the morning! 

I need to get better about planning out my blog posts because when I realize I have nothing prepared I tend to end up doing a book review because if the book is read, I don’t have to do anything besides type up a review.

After this review I won’t have any books read that I haven’t reviewed yet so I will be posting other content!

I picked up this book because I needed a book of short stories to check off on the Pop Sugar 2015 Book Challenge. I started it back in February and just now got around to finishing it. That might give you a little hint as to what I thought about the book.

This book was written by Sophie Hudson who is the author of the blog BooMaMa. She has a passion for story telling, especially stories about her own family. This book is a compilation of stories about her family over the years. Throughout the book you get to know all her family members and all their quirks.

One thing I liked about the book was the way it was written. You almost felt like you were sitting there listening to her telling the story as opposed to reading the book and I loved that. However I had a hard time getting drawn into some of the stories. I felt if the stories were about my own family I would love them but it was hard for me to want to invest my time reading about someone else’s family. It honestly made me wish someone in my family was talented enough to write a book like this because I think I would love it. I am sure there are others out there that are able to get hooked on her family stories but I just wasn’t one of them.

Like I stated Sophie is a fantastic writer and her stories weren’t bad, they just were of no interest to me. With that being said I tend to like fairly dramatic books and a book about a sweet southern family most likely isn’t going to involve serial killers and those type of things. So if you like a more light-hearted family oriented book I would definitely recommend this. Another thing I liked was that she implements scripture into her stories, so if you enjoy that I would recommend this book to you.

I gave the book a 3 out of 5 stars because it just wasn’t the book for me. It was very well written and definitely good for a particular audience I just didn’t happen to be that audience.

Here is an updated list of my Book Challenge reads. I switched around a few books to accommodate other books I read.

A book with more than 500 pages Dark Places//currently reading

A classic romance

A book that became a movie Divergent//finished Feb 8

A book published this year The Girl on the Train//finished March 24

A book with a number in the title

A book written by someone under 30//Shy Town Girls//finished June 20

A book with nonhuman characters

A funny book

A book by a female author

A mystery or thriller Bloody Mary//finished Jan 4

A book with a one-word title

A book of short stories A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet: Southern Stories of Faith, Family, and Fifteen Pounds of Bacon//Finished June 24

A book set in a different country Claudia, Wife of Pontius Pilate//finished March 10

A nonfiction book

A popular authors first book

A book from an author that you love that you haven’t read yet

A book a friend recommended You Belong To Me//finished Feb 24

A Pulitzer Prize winning book The Orphan Master’s Son//finished Jan 30

A book based on a true story Daddy Come and get Me//finished March 24

A book at the bottom of your to-read list

A book your mom loves Confessions of a Mega Church Pastor// finished April 23

A book that scares you

A book more than 100 years old

A book based entirely on its cover The Selection//finished Mar 3

A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t

A memoir

A book you can finish in a day

A book with antonyms in the title

A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

A book that came out the year you were born

A book with bad reviews

A trilogy

A book from your childhood

A book with a love triangle

A book set in the future

A book set in high school

A book with a color in the title The Crimson Cord: Rahab’s Story//finished May 30

A book that made you cry

A book with magic

A book by an author you’ve never read before The Doctor’s Fake Fiancee//finished Jan 9

A book you own but have never read

A book that takes place in your hometown

A book that was originally written in a different language

A book set during Christmas

A book written by an author with your same initials Best Friends……Forever?//finished April 7

A play

A banned book

A book based on or turned into a TV show Growing up Duggar//Finished June 17

A book you started but never finished

Leave a Reply

