Growing Up Duggar//Book Review

Growing-Up-Duggar

Before I begin with the book review I want to apologize for the blog being up late! I pre write and schedule all my blogs because I think having consistency is important. I knew this would be a fairly easy post to write (I didn’t have to take any special pictures or anything like that) so I decided it would be easy to write it on Thursday night. Well I had a meeting I attended Thursday night and when I got home my husband wanted use to watch a movie together. The longer I’m married the more I cherish spending time with my husband. We both talked the other day about how we are finding that we would rather spend time with each other than anyone else. Therefore I wasn’t about to turn down spending time together over writing my blog post. After the movie was over I was too tired to write anything that would make sense. That is why I am writing this today and it will be posted late. I’m sorry!!

Another thing I want to mention before I review this book is that my choosing to read this book has NOTHING to do with what is being talked about in the news right now. I will not be discussing the situation or my thoughts on it. I feel that is a private matter for the family and no one else’s business.

Growing up Duggar: I have wanted to read this book ever since it came out. I remember seeing the TV specials on the Duggar family years before their TV show ever started. I was intrigued by the fact that one woman gave birth to that many kids. When I started reading the book it was apparent that although this book could be for anyone I was not the target audience. Much of the book included advice for teenage girls.

The book was divided into chapters about relationships, relationships with God, their parents, their siblings, culture, guys, etc. Because I have watched their show for years there was not much I was surprised about. However I did enjoy hearing why they believe the things they believe. I too am a Christian and share some of the same beliefs. While my husband and I did kiss before we were married, I have short hair, and I live in jeans and sweatpants, I can still relate to them. They do the things they do because they believe that is what God is calling them to do. The biggest thing I admire about this is they have a reason for everything they do. I have heard many people say things about them as if they were mindless robots, but from this book they truly appear to have clear reasons why they believe the things they believe. They also don’t judge others who don’t have the same convictions as them. They discussed how everyone has different convictions and these happen to be theirs.

I would recommend this book to anyone but especially teenage girls. There are too many bad role models out there today. These girls actual have values and morals and would make great role models for any young girl. That is not to say all girls need to give up wearing pants, it’s just finally nice to see girls who well to be honest aren’t a piece of trash.

I am sure this book has gotten a lot of criticism because of who this family is. With that being said I am giving this book 4 out of 5 stars just because I reserve 5 stars for my absolute favorite books.

Hope you enjoyed my review and if you have read this book I would love to hear what you think about it!

Leave a Reply

