The Crimson Cord: Rahab’s Story Book Review

24360419

I haven’t done much reading in the past few months. I figured that a full book challenge update would be too much for just 1 book so today I will simply do a review of the book.

After reading Claudia, Wife of Pontius Pilate I decided I wanted to give another biblical fiction book a try. Sadly I did not fall in love with this book the way I did the first. I picked this book because I did not know much about Rahab. For those of you unfamiliar with her story, she was a prostitute who saved the lives of Israelite spies and then God saved her and her family’s life.  I realize these books are fiction but they do give you an insight at what their story could have been like. I think books like this can help us better understand people from the Bible.

I read the preview of The Crimson Cord: Rahab’s Story on my Kindle and found it interesting enough to download. The farther I got into the book I found myself reading less and less. It wasn’t a bad story or poorly written it just didn’t catch my attention. One thing I did enjoy about the book was the story itself. It made Rahab seem like a real person instead of just someone we read about. I really enjoyed that. Sometimes I feel like because I have be hearing the same Bible stories over and over since I was little I often forget to take the time to actual think about them and acknowledging that they are real. These were all real people, Noah, Moses, Pontius Pilate, Rahab, and so many more.

Like I said it was by no means a bad book I just had a hard time getting this book to grab my attention. I would not, not recommend this book because there very well may be others out there that love it but I just didn’t. I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars because it is a good story but again just didn’t catch my attention as well as other books.

Leave a Reply

