Gardening Adventures

IMG_0991

I thought I’d fill you all in on my latest “adventure.” My husband and I live in a town home with a parking lot as our yard. However there is this little patch of dirt by our back door that I have been staring at for the past 2 years. One of my neighbors filled in her little patch with nice patio chairs and gravel which got me thinking I just had to do something with mine.

I figured why not try planting some flowers. I can’t be that hard right? I grew up watching my mom plant flowers every year and my father in law owns a landscaping business so I figured maybe some of their expertise had rubbed off on me. The first thing I had to do was pull all the weeds. It was covered! That took me awhile but thankfully it wasn’t as bad as I thought. After that I pulled out a shovel my husband keeps in the car during the winter incase we get stuck in the snow and stirred up the dirt.

IMG_0987

Like I said this was my first time ever doing this on my own. I went to the store to pick out some flowers and the only thing I knew I needed was to make sure they could handle being in full sun. This area of the house gets no shade whatsoever during the day so I knew I needed plants that could handle that. I spotted a pretty yellow and pink flower called ice plant (which I had never heard of before) and had to get those once I saw they could handle full sun! I wanted to find something else to go with it and since the store didn’t have a huge selection I decided to go with some little white flowers.

IMG_0991

Like I said I solely picked the flowers by how much sun they could handle and I probably should have done a little more research. The ice plant thrives with little water and dry soil whereas the little white flowers (which I believe are called alyssums) need lots of water. Seeing as I planted them together this may not turn out so well. Oh well right? My husband helped me plant them because as a kid he helped his dad out with the landscaping business. He definitely laughed at my gardening skills a few times but overall it was fun doing a little project together.

IMG_0992

It’s been 10 days since I planted the flowers and the Ice Plant is holding up  pretty well but the little white flowers are having a rougher time. There are 4 dogs that live on our strip and they seem to think my flowers are food. One bunch of white flowers was completely ripped out of the ground but I didn’t really care. I mean can you really explain to a dog the purpose for planting flowers? Anyways, I also went a few days without watering them because the weather kept saying we were getting bad storms but it never did rain (well for about 5 mins but that’s it). I took a new picture of them today to compare.

IMG_1016

You can definitely see there are more flowers blooming on the Ice Plants than there were 10 days ago. I am excited to see how they look by the end of the summer. Ice Plants are supposed to bloom all the way through the summer till the beginning of fall so let’s see if I can keep them alive that long!

Sorry this post was up so late I had planned on typing it up last night and scheduling it to post this morning but that didn’t happen. Anyways I’d love to hear what you guys think and if you’ve ever had experiences with either of these flowers before!

2 thoughts on “Gardening Adventures

Leave a Reply

