Mental Health Awareness Month//B4Stage4

May is mental health awareness month. Mental health is something I am passionate about for 2 main reasons. I am currently pursuing my bachelors in psychology therefore I have studied mental health and have seen how devastating it can be when untreated. The second and biggest reason is because I myself suffer from severe anxiety and panic disorders. I was diagnosed 13 years ago and still struggle today. I have decided that because this is something I am so passionate about that I want to bring as much awareness to it as I can. Over the course of the month I plan on highlighting different campaigns going on this month for mental health awareness.

The first one I want to discuss is being organized by Mental Health America. Their theme for this years mental health awareness campaign is B4Stage4. Stage 4 is when mental health symptoms are the most severe and have the longest recovery process. However most people don’t take the time to get help until they have reached stage 4. For more information on this campaign go to http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/may

Leave a Reply

